One of the preeminent worldwide golf event, the U.S. Open, is the annual open national championship of golf in the United States. It is the second of the four major championships in golf, and is on the official schedule of both the PGA Tour and the European Tour.

During the week of June 12-18, 2017, the U.S. Open Championship will be contested in Wisconsin for the first time. The championship will welcome the world’s top players vying for the title that has been contested since 1895. The United States Golf Association will provide the ultimate, most comprehensive test in golf to identify the best of the best, with past champions including Bob Jones, Ben Hogan, Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Wisconsin’s own Andy North and Tiger Woods. Catch The U.S. Open live & exclusive on DSport

We’ve listed down some interesting facts about the U.S. Open Championship:

  • The first U.S. Open was played on October 4, 1895, on a nine-hole course at the Newport Country Club in Newport, Rhode Island. It was a 36-hole competition and was played in a single day
  • It featured a field of 10 professionals and one amateur who contended for the title over 36 holes in one day.
  • Horace Rawlins at the age of 21 won the first U.S. Open Championship
  • Since its inception in 1895 John McDermott became the first ever America born player to win the US Open Championship at the age of 19 in the year 1911.
  • US Open of 1912, which was held at the Country Club of Buffalo, was the first and the only Open course which had a par 6 hole.
  • The Oakmont Country Club in the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania has the honor to host the most number of US Open Championships. The last one was in 2007 which was the 8th time and next time it will host the US Open Championship in the year 2016.
  • The first time the international players were allowed to qualify for the US Open Championship was in the year 2005. Michael Campbell the champion of that year was one of those nine players who were qualified from an English tournament.

Take a look at some facts about the 2017 The U.S. Open

  • The 2017 United States Open Championship will be its 117th playing, scheduled to be played during the week of June 12-18, 2017 at Erin Hills in Erin, Wisconsin, northwest of Milwaukee
  • This is the first U.S. Open in Wisconsin, but the state’s fifth major championship
  • Erin Hills will be the sixth public access course to host the championship (joining Pebble Beach, Pinehurst, Bethpage, Torrey Pines and Chambers Bay)
  • The USGA recently announced that it is handing out an extra $2 million in 2017, with its total purse now totalling $12 million
  • With a purse of $12 million, this will be the first major with a winner’s share exceeding $2 million
  • Dustin Johnson pocketed $1.8 million for his victory at Oakmont in the 2016 U.S. Open. This year’s winner at Erin Hills will go home with $2.16 million
  • In 2017, the USGA accepted more than 9,000 entries (9,485) for the U.S. Open for the ninth time overall and the sixth consecutive year
  • It’s the fifth-highest number of entries and includes golfers from all 50 states, 150 from Wisconsin, as well as the District of Columbia and 66 foreign countries.
  • Dustin Johnson, the 2016 champion, and 10 other champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Angel Cabrera (2007), Ernie Els (1994, 1997), Jim Furyk (2003), Lucas Glover (2009), Martin Kaymer (2014), Graeme McDowell (2010), Rory McIlroy (2011), Justin Rose (2013), Webb Simpson (2012) and Jordan Spieth (2015).

For more 2017 US Open updates keep reading this section.

Leave a Reply