Last year’s winner on the Champs-Elysées Dylan Groenewegen of LottoNL-Jumbo took his second Tour de France stage victory as he outsprinted Fernando Gaviria and Peter Sagan in Chartres. Greg Van Avermaet retained the yellow jersey and extended his lead by three seconds at the bonus point.

170 riders started stage 7 in Fougères at 12.21. Yoann Offredo (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) was first to try and go from the gun but he gave up as he realized that nobody was keen to accompany him. His team-mate Thomas Degand was next to go out of the bunch at km 3 but again, he received no help. The peloton was on a slow motion and Degand waited for being swallowed at km 17. After the regrouping, the peloton strung out and ten riders rode away: Oliver Naesen and Tony Gallopin (AG2R-La Mondiale), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal), Arthur Vichot (Groupama-FDJ), Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe), Yves Lampaert (Quick Step), Michael Gogl (Trek-Segafredo), Julien Vermote (Dimension Data), Edward Theuns (Sunweb) and Simon Gerrans (BMC). The LottoNL-Jumbo team wasn’t happy with this breakaway. They rode strongly behind and put an end to their initiative at km 25, after which the whole peloton went back to a slow motion.

Source: LeTour


Leave a Reply