World champion Tom Dumoulin took his second time trial victory in the Tour de France after stage 13 in 2016 to retain his second place overall behind Geraint Thomas who finished third in the Basque country while Chris Froome came second and deprived Primoz Roglic of the third position on GC.

145 riders were expected to start the only time trial of the 105th Tour de France. The first man on the road was Lawson Craddock (EF) who has been last on GC since his heavy crash on stage 1. Successively, Jay Thompson (Dimension Data), Amund Groendahl Jansen (LottoNL-Jumbo) and Marco Marcato (UAE Team Emirates) set new best times on the line until Michael Hepburn (Mitchelton-Scott) clocked in 42’15’’, which appeared as an excellent performance compared to the predictions of the experts. The Australian remained on the hot seat for one hour and fourty-eight minutes. Marc Soler (Movistar) was first to better his time, albeit by only five hundredth of a second. Soren Kragh (Sunweb) was next to set a significant time at the average speed of 44.6km/h. The Dane didn’t last long in the lead as Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) rode one second faster than him.

Source: Le Tour

Leave a Reply