Peter Sagan claimed his eleventh stage win at the Tour de France, the third one since the start in Vendée, as he outsprinted Alexander Kristoff and Arnaud Démare in Valence. It was a transition stage for race leader Geraint Thomas between the Alps and the uphill finish in Mende.

152 riders started stage 13 in Bourg d’Oisans. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) was a non-starter due to a broken vertebrae in a crash 4km before the finish at Alpe d’Huez. Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal) and Tom Scully (Education First) rode away from the peloton at km 2. Michael Schär (BMC) and Dimitri Claeys (Cofidis) rejoined them at km 29 whereas all other counter attackers were brought back by the pack. Their maximum advantage was 3’30’’ before the côte de Brié at km 30. De Gendt took 2 KOM points. Bora-Hansgrohe, Groupama-FDJ and UAE Team Emirates combined forces at the head of the peloton to maintain a steady gap around two minutes. Lukas Pöstlberger, Tobias Ludvigsson and Darwin Atapuma were their respective rider designated for pulling.


Source: Le Tour

Leave a Reply