Two and half years after a life-threatening accident, John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo) took his first Tour de France victory following six second places in six participations. A Paris-Roubaix winner in 2015, he achieved his goal in Roubaix as he outsprinted yellow jersey Greg Van Avermaet and Belgian champion Yves Lampaert. Pre-race challenger Richie Porte abandoned the Tour de France in a crash before the cobblestone sections.

169 riders started stage 9 in Arras. One non-starter: Tony Martin (Katusha-Alpecin). Five riders rode away right after the flag off: Omar Fraile (Astana), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto-Soudal), Antwan Tolhoek (LottoNL-Jumbo), Jérôme Cousin and Damien Gaudin (Direct Energie). They were rejoined at km 20 by Chad Haga (Sunweb), Olivier Le Gac (Groupama-FDJ), Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg (Dimension), Nicolas Edet (Cofidis) and Lilian Calmejane (Direct Energie). But the main fact of the early part of the race was the abandon of Richie Porte (BMC) who broke a collarbone in a crash at km 7. José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) was also forced to pull out. The maximum time gap was 3’49’’ at km 35.

Source: Le Tour

Leave a Reply