Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe earned a splendid victory on stage 10 while Greg van Avermaet extended his overall lead in the Tour de France 2018. After a long‑range attack in the mountains, Alaphilippe went clear with just under 30km to go and held his advantage over the final climb to take his first Tour stage win in Le Grand-Bornand.

165 riders started stage 10 at Annecy. 2 non-starters: Alexis Vuillermoz (AG2R-La Mondiale) and Jens Keukeleire (Lotto-Soudal). After Julian Alaphilippe (Quick Step) and Florian Vachon (Fortuneo-Samsic) got brought back after 10km of racing, Sylvain Chavanel (Direct Energie) rode away with Thomas Degand (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Marcus Burghardt (Bora-Hansgrohe). A group of 21 riders was formed in several moves between the col de Bluffy (km 19) and the intermediate sprint won by Peter Sagan at km 29. It comprised Tony Gallopin (AG2R), Elie Gesbert and Amaël Moinard (Cofidis), Ion Izagirre (Bahrain-Merida), Jack Bauer and Daryl Impey (Mitchelton-Scott), Greg Van Avermaet (BMC), Alaphilippe and Philippe Gilbert (Quick Step), Sagan and Lukas Pöstlberger (Bora-Hansgrohe), Serge Pauwels and Tom-Jelte Slagter (Dimension Data), David Gaudu, Rudy Molard and Arthur Vichot (Groupama-FDJ), Robert Gesink (LottoNL-Jumbo), Lilian Calmejane and Rein Taaramäe (Direct Energie), Guillaume Martin and Degand (Wanty-Groupe Gobert).

Source: Le Tour

Leave a Reply