Tie Break Tens is a whole new concept of short tennis format where only tie-breaks are played during one 4 hour session. This quick-fire version of the sport have witnessed some top-ranked professional tennis players in the past, competing in a round-robin style tournament where every point counts.

In Tie Break Tens there are no sets, there are only tie-break matches and the winner is the first player to reach 10 points and lead by a margin of two. Like traditional tie- break rules, a coin toss determines who serves first, and from which end of the court they play. The player who wins the toss, serves first. The other player then serves twice, and with the rest of the match continuing with the players alternating serves every two points. Players change ends after every six points. Players are allowed an unlimited number of line-call challenges using review technology during each match, until an incorrect challenge is made. After this, no more challenges are allowed until the next match.

The inaugural Tie Break Tens event took place at the Royal Albert Hall on 5 December 2015 and was won by Kyle Edmund.

A second edition of Tie Break Tens took place on 23rd October 2016 in Vienna at the Erste Bank Open 500, with Dominic Thiem defeating Andy Murray in the final.

The third edition of Tie Break Tens will take place on the eve of the Mutua Madrid Open on May 4th 2017. In this edition both men’s and women’s events will run side-by-side and a new knock-out format will be used for the first time.

The event, will feature women for the first time with two separate eight-player draws running alongside each other at the Caja Magica during the Madrid Open.

Five-time Grand Slam champion Maria Sharapova will be one of the star player joined by French Open champion Garbine Muguruza, World No.5 Simona Halep and Olympic champion Monica Puig. While in the men’s event, World No.5 Kei Nishikori, Grigor Dimitrov and home favourite Feliciano Lopez are scheduled to take part.

At the first two editions, a round-robin format was used, with six players divided into two groups of three. The top two players in each group progressed to the semi-finals. While, at the third edition in Madrid, a knockout format is planned, with quarterfinals, semi-finals and final. There will be 14 Tie Break Matches in this edition.

It will be electrifying to see top star tennis players in the grandeur of Madrid arena, battling for the winning crown.

Both the men’s and women’s events will award a winner-take-all prize of $200,000, with an additional $100,000 going to the Mutua charity against domestic violence.

Watch Tie Break Tens on Thursday 11:00 PM on DSport.


Leave a Reply