In commemoration of the legend in the history of tennis, Rodney George Laver (AC, MBE), also known as Rod Laver, Laver cup is once again in the saddle to host the stars of tennis. Laver cup 2018 will be hosted at the iconic Pritzker Pavilion in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Team Europe and the Team World captained by Björn Borg and John McEnroe respectively will battle out for one more time. Like last year, Thomas Enqvist will be Borg’s vice-captain and Patrick McEnroe will be his brother’s.

Talking about the 2017 tournament, which was held in Prague, in spite of being the first edition of Laver Cup, it saw a magnificent response from the fans worldwide and tennis fraternity, it was like a dream start. Roger Federer sealed the first Laver Cup for Team Europe with singles win. Laver Cup 2017 concluded with a dramatic twist to the tale. The final match was between Roger Federer and Nick Kyrgios and indeed, it was an epic end to the championship, perfectly justifying the name it carries. The result was unpredictable until the very last point. But, there were many other factors apart from the on-ground action, which added to the inaugural Laver Cup, as, the four generations of tennis were gathered at one place.

Coming to the Laver Cup 2018, this time the teams have both experienced and the first-timers.

Team Europe:

Team Europe is led by Bjorn Borg, comprises of highest-ranked players in the game like Roger Federer (2), Novak Djokovic (3) and Alexander Zverev (5). Here is the list of players of Team Europe which is all set to defend their title.

  • Roger Federer (2)
  • Alexander Zverev (5)
  • Grigor Dimitrov (7)
  • Novak Djokovic (3) (First Time)
  • David Goffin (11) (First Time)
  • Kyle Edmund (16) (First Time)
Team Europe

Source: Laver Cup

Team World:

Led by John McEnroe, Team World’s Kevin Anderson lead the pack when it comes to ranking. The team holds two players who are under top ten and is all set to give a tough fight to Team Europe.

  • Kevin Anderson (9) (First Time)
  • John Isner (10)
  • Diego Schwartzman (14) (First Time)
  • Jack Sock (17)
  • Nick Kygrios (27)
  • Frances Tiafoe (40)
Team World

Source: Laver Cup

With both the ultimate forces, it’ll be a tournament full of surprises and excitements without any doubt. So get ready to see tennis champions under one roof once again at Chicago from September 21 to 23. Watch the Laver Cup 2018 on DSport.

Laver cup

Leave a Reply