The longest LPGA tournament stretch to Williamsburg for the 13th time, starting with this week’s Kingsmill Championship.

The Kingsmill Championship is a women’s professional golf tournament on the LPGA Tour, played in Williamsburg, Virginia.

In the tournament, the majority of top women golfers will be competing for a $1.3 million purse at the Kingsmill Resort’s River Course.

Catch all the live actions from the course on DSport starting this Thursday.

Here are few interesting facts to know about the Kingsmill Championship:

  • The tournament was founded fourteen years ago in 2003 and played for seven seasons
  • This is the 13th edition of the Kingsmill Championship
  • Only Cristie Kerr (2005, 2009, 2013) has won the Kingsmill Championship multiple times
  • Cristie Kerr’s three wins (2005, 2009, 2013) at the Kingsmill Championship have each come in four-year increments, with her last win coming in 2013 a win this year would keep the trend alive
  • Winners of the event who were Rolex First-Time Winners: Suzann Pettersen (2007), Lizette Salas (2014) and Minjee Lee (2015)
  • The 144-player field includes 20 of the top 25 players in the Rolex Rankings, 87 of the top 100 players on the 2017 LPGA Tour money list and six past Kingsmill champions, all competing for a $1.3 million purse at the Kingsmill Resort’s River Course
  • Ko is making her third appearance this week in Virginia where she will look to crack the top-15 for the first time since 2014 and pick up her first victory of 2017
  • 18-hole scoring record, most recently shot by In Gee Chun in the second round in 2016
  • Tournament record 19-under-par 72-hole score set by Annika Sorenstam in 2008
  • The Kingsmill Championship field features 21 of the 37 2017 LPGA Tour rookies, the most to tee it up at a tournament this season
  • Three players received sponsor invites to this week’s Kingsmill Championship including Lauren Coughlin, Mariah Stackhouse and Kaylin Yost
  • In 2017, the LPGA expanded its global representation with the addition of five rookies from new countries: Aditi Ashok (India), Laura Gonzalez Escallon (Belgium), Daniela Darquea (Ecuador), Olafia Kristinsdottir (Iceland) and Krista Puisite (Latvia)
  • Ashok, Escallon and Kristinsdottir will be in action at the Kingsmill Championship

Some facts about defending champion Ariya Jutanugarn:

  • In her 10 starts in 2017, Jutanugarn has posted eight top-nine finishes, including three runner-up finishes (HSBC Women’s Champions, Bank of Hope Founders Cup, Citibanamex Lorena Ochoa Match Play presented by Aeromexico and Delta)
  • By the end of the 2016 season, Jutanugarn won five LPGA titles and became the first player in Tour history to have the first three wins of her career come in consecutive tournaments (Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic, Kingsmill Championship, Volvik Championship)
  • Became the first player since Inbee Park in 2013 to win three LPGA tournaments in a row
  • Won the Rolex Player of the Year by 20 points over Lydia Ko to become the second-youngest winner in the 50-year history of the award, trailing only Ko in 2015
  • Won the Women’s British Open, becoming the first major champion (male or female) from Thailand

Top three players in the Rolex Rankings (since the 2016 RICOH Women’s British Open)

Top three players in the Rolex Rankings (since the 2016 RICOH Women’s British Open)

  • So Yeon Ryu has four top-10 finishes at Kingsmill, and she has an active streak of 10 consecutive top 10s dating back to the 2016 Sime Darby LPGA Malaysia 
  • It has been 18 starts since No. 1 Lydia Ko’s last win at the 2016 Marathon Classic presented by Owens Corning and O-I, her longest stretch without a win on the LPGA Tour

Source: LPGA


Leave a Reply