Johnson won his first NASCAR race of the season by taking the lead with 15 laps to go in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500. The win marks Johnson’s seventh win at Texas Motor Speedway and is Johnson’s 16th straight year with at least one win, the longest active streak. Kyle Larson finished second while, Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick and Dale Earnhardt Jr. rounded out the top five.

Johnson entered Sunday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 500 with just one top-10 finish (ninth at Phoenix). He jumped to 11th with the win but still trails Larson by 125 points.

Texas becomes the fourth track where Johnson has won at least seven times, joining Dover International Speedway, Martinsville Speedway and Charlotte Motor Speedway. Sunday’s win came on a newly repaved and reconfigured surface.

Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chase Elliott, Kasey Kahne and Kyle Larson were among the nine drivers to start from the rear of the field in Sunday’s race after their cars failed to pass tech prior to the end of the first round of qualifying on Friday at the 1.5-mile track.

For Larson, it’s his fourth runner-up finish of the year. He continues to lead the NASCAR point standings (315) and has a 17-point cushion between him and Chase Elliott, who sits second.

Logano finished third followed by Kevin Harvick and Dale Earnhardt Jr., who scored his first top five of the season.

Ryan Blaney owned much of the day, leading a race-best 148 laps. He won the first two stages of the race, but fell to the back of the pack after a long pitstop. Things got worse for Blaney when he appeared to collide with Corey LaJoie and damage his car. Blaney went on to finish 12th.

Here is the complete result from the O’Reilly Auto Parts 500.

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kyle Larson
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Jamie McMurray
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Chase Elliott
  10. Kurt Busch
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Ryan Blaney
  13. Trevor Bayne
  14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  15. Kyle Busch
  16. Matt Kenseth
  17. Ty Dillon
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Daniel Suarez
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Chris Buescher
  22. Erik Jones
  23. Michael McDowell
  24. Danica Patrick
  25. Denny Hamlin
  26. Ryan Newman
  27. JJ Yeley
  28. David Ragan
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Cole Whitt
  31. Matt DiBenedetto
  32. Corey LaJoie
  33. Austin Dillon
  34. Gray Gaulding
  35. Reed Sorenson
  36. Paul Menard
  37. Derrike Cope
  38. Kasey Kanhe
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. Jeffrey Earnhardt

Source: Sporting News

Leave a Reply