The 2017 British Open is already here and the golfing world will no doubt will be glued to the action at Royal Birkdale for the next few days.

Royal Birkdale will host The Open for the tenth time and will welcome the world’s greatest golfers to one of the sport’s most renowned and challenging venues.

Since first hosting The Open in 1954, the course has been (alongside Royal Lytham) the most regular venue for the Championship other than St Andrews.

Royal Birkdale has previously hosted The Open on nine occasions i.e. 1954, 1961, 1965, 1971, 1976, 1983, 1991, 1998 and 2008

Here, we have listed down the last five venues that have hosted the golf’s oldest tournament, The Open. Have a look:

145th Open- Royal Troon Golf Club 2016, Scotland

Founded in 1878, Royal Troon is renowned as one of the greatest links courses and hosted the 145th Open in 2016. The 145th Open at Royal Troon was one of the most dramatic Championships in its illustrious history. The headline story of the first round of the final day was Phil Mickelson’s missed putt on the 18th hole as he chased a record-breaking round of 62. The ball looked destined to drop from the moment it left his putter, only to lip the hole at the final moment, leaving Mickelson to settle for a course record 63.

The final round at Royal Troon remembered for some of the highest quality golf ever played in the Championship during a gripping dual between Henrik Stenson and Phil Mickelson.

Stenson mastered his way around Royal Troon, posting a round of 63 that included ten birdies to win The 145th Open and become 2016 Champion Golfer of the Year. The winning margin was three strokes, Mickelson finishing with a 65.

144th Open – St Andrews 2015, Scotland

Golf has been played over the links land at St Andrews for over half a millennium. The 144th Open featured one of the Championship’s best-ever finishes in which American Zach Johnson eventually triumphed in a four hole play-off against 2010 Champion Louis Oosthuizen and Australia’s Marc Leishman.

Old Course of St Andrews presented a spectacular and unique test for the world’s best players competing to become Champion Golfer of the Year. In the course of its 29 Opens, St Andrews has produced winners who are the best of their generation.

143rd Open – Royal Liverpool 2014, England

The historic Wirral links at Hoylake have a history of discovering great Open Champions, including Rory McIlroy in 2014. Royal Liverpool has previously hosted The Open on 12 occasions.

Rory McIlroy dominated the 2014 Open at Royal Liverpool. McIlroy became the third Northern Irish winner after Fred Daly, who won at Hoylake in 1947, and Darren Clarke (2011).

142nd Open – Muirfield 2013, Scotland

Home to the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, golf was first played at Muirfield in 1891 on 18 holes laid out by Old Tom Morris. It was in 1891 that the current course was opened and just a year later, in 1892, Muirfield hosted the first of its sixteen Opens, which was won by Harold Hilton, one of only three amateurs to have lifted the Claret Jug.

Phil Mickelson delivered a dramatic come-from-behind victory in the 142nd Open at Muirfield. He was home in 32 for a 66, the lowest closing round by a Champion at Muirfield and matching Zach Johnson from the opening round as the best score of the week. He won by three from Henrik Stenson and was the only player to finish under par on the sun-baked Muirfield course.

141st Open – Royal Lytham and St Annes 2012, England

Founded in 1886, Royal Lytham & St Annes is one of the premier links courses in the world and has hosted The Open on eleven occasions.

Ernie Els never led the 141st Open until the moment he won it. At a course where the South African felt he had let victories slip away in both 1996 and 2001, he closed superbly with a 68 that included an inward half of only 32 strokes.


Leave a Reply