Belgian Greg Van Avermaet finally landed his first ‘Monument’ victory in a thrilling Paris-Roubaix race on Sunday (Apr 9).

The Olympic champion edged a sprint finish in the iconic outdoor Roubaix velodrome ahead of Czech Zdenek Stybar and Sebastian Langeveld of the Netherlands at the end of the 257km ‘Hell of the North’ cobbled classic.

It is a first victory for the 31-year-old Belgian – who won road race gold at Rio 2016 – in one of cycling’s five prestigious one-day ‘monuments’

Compatriot Tom Boonen failed in his bid for a record fifth title in his final professional race.

Four times Van Avermaet has finished in the top four at the ‘Monument’ Tour of Flanders, including taking second place last weekend despite a late crash.

He was third in Roubaix two years ago – Stybar beat him into second behind John Degenkolb in another sprint finish – and was fourth in 2013.

But on the back of the greatest period of his career, Van Avermaet is now a Monument winner.


  1. Greg van Avermaet (Bel/BMC) 5 hrs 41 minutes 7 seconds
  2. Zdenek Stybar (Cze/Quick-Step Floors) Same time
  3. Sebastian Langeveld (Ned/Cannondale-Drapac)
  4. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)
  5. Gianni Moscon (Ita/Team Sky)
  6. Arnaud Demare (Fra/FDJ) +12 seconds
  7. Andre Greipel (Ger/Lotto Soudal) Same time
  8. Edward Theuns (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)
  9. Adrien Petit (Fra/Direct Energie)
  10. John Degenkolb (Ger/Trek-Segafredo)

Source: BBC

Leave a Reply