The history of the Brazilian National League began in 1971, when 20 teams played the tournament and Atlético Mineiro was the first Brazilian champion. The modern Campeonato Brasileiro began at the same time, supported by the military regime of the time and made easier by advancements in civil aviation.

The Campeonato Brasileiro is one of the strongest leagues in the world; it contains the most club world champions titles, with 10 championships won among six clubs, and the second-most Copa Libertadores titles, with 17 titles won among 10 clubs.

The idea of having a National tournament in Brazil was created after the success of the Rio-São Paulo tournament. In the sixties the major clubs from Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, the two biggest cities in the country, were engaged in this competition. In 1971, the first Brazilian League was played with teams from 8 different states.

The Santos and Palmeiras clubs have won maximum number of the Brazilian championships, closely followed by São Paulo, Flamengo, Corinthians, Vasco da Gama and Fluminense.

The Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF) is the governing body of football in Brazil and is based in Barra da Tijuca. The Brazilian League (Series A) is organized by CBF and is the most important league in Brazil.

In the league, twenty teams compete in a single group and each team plays with each other twice. The team with more points at the end of 38 rounds wins the Brazilian League.

The Serie A of 2017 is the 61st season of the Série A, the top level of professional football in Brazil, and the 14th edition in a double round-robin since its establishment in 2003. For the fifteenth consecutive season, the tournament is being played in a double round-robin system. The top six teams will qualify to Copa Libertadores and the last four will be relegated to Série B in 2018.

Palmeiras come in as the defending champions having won the title in the last season.

The Serie A of the Brazilian National League 2017 is played by 20 teams from 9 different states. The state from São Paulo has 5 teams this year, followed by Rio de Janeiro (4 teams). Minas Gerais, Santa Catarina, Paraná and Bahia have 2 teams each playing the Serie A. Rio Grande do Sul, Goiás and Pernambuco have one team each one.

Till date, teams from São Paulo have 20 times conquered this tournament. While teams from Rio de Janeiro (14 times), Rio Grande do Sul (5), Minas Gerais (4), Paraná twice and Bahia once have also won this title.

Three-time champion of the Libertadores Cup, and three-time club world champion, São Paulo is the Brazilian team with best international results and is also one of the most successful teams in South America. It is the third best-supported club in Brazil, just behind Flamengo and Corinthians, with more than 17 million supporters.

The 2017 Brazilian League will be played from 13th May to 3rd December 2017 under the same rules as the major leagues all over the world. The 20 teams will play twice against each other and the one with most number of points at the end of the season will be given the champion’s title.

Rules of the Game:

When two or more teams have the same number of points, the following criteria will be used to determine their position on the table:

  1. Largest number of wins
  2. Largest goal difference
  3. Most goals scored
  4. Head to head results (only between two teams)
  5. Less number of red cards
  6. Less number of yellow cards
  7. Lottery

The last four teams will be relegated to Serie B for the season 2018. The first six will be qualified for The Libertadores Cup 2018 if the winner of the 2017 South-American Cup is not a Brazilian team.

Here is the list of teams taking part in the 2017 Brazilian League (Serie A):

Associação Atlética PONTE PRETACampinas
Associação CHAPECOENSE de FutebolChapecó
AVAÍ Futebol ClubeFlorianópolis
BOTAFOGO de Futebol e RegatasRio de Janeiro
Club de Regatas VASCO DA GAMARio de Janeiro
Clube ATLÉTICO MINEIROBelo Horizonte
Clube de Regatas do FLAMENGO Rio de Janeiro
CORITIBA Football ClubCuritiba
CRUZEIRO Esporte ClubeBelo Horizonte
Esporte Clube BAHIASalvador
Esporte Clube VITÓRIASalvador
FLUMINENSE Football ClubRio de Janeiro
GRÊMIO de Foot Ball Porto-AlegrensePorto Alegre
SANTOS Futebol ClubeSantos
SÃO PAULO Futebol ClubeSão Paulo
Sociedade Esportiva PALMEIRASSão Paulo
Sport Club CORINTHIANS PaulistaSão Paulo
SPORT Clube do RecifeRecife

Leave a Reply